Image

Carrot and Dill Soup

Carrot & Dill soup from Real Simple magazine is another great place to start.

Oh friends!  I am so sorry I’ve been without contact for so long.  My camera is broken!

I know!  A complete and total travesty for a food blogger, especially one who cooks at night.  And, sadly, I have not contacted the powers that be about warranty coverage.  (It’s okay to cross your fingers for the camera.)

But the true reason I’m sad is because so many amazing things have been happening in the kitchen and I haven’t gotten to share with you yet.  First there were fresh garbanzo beans!  (I think that’s where we left off.)

We roasted them and made a soup.  (But not this other, which I also wanted to try.)  I haven’t made them again as I’ve been too distracted by beets from the farmer’s market and tiny Texas garden carrots.

Last night K and I made a carrot and dill soup.  It’s a bit of a precursor for a chilled carrot soup I’ll be serving at my pal J’s birthday bash this weekend.  (I’m really, really looking forward to that.  It’s so much fun planning any Texas-style bash, but especially one in a park!)

I’m planning to keep the soups coming this summer.  I really do adore a soup with most any meal.  It’s an easy way to add a veggie and rich flavor profiles to any meal.  Tell me some of your favorite summer soup recipes.  And I’ll share this carrot one with you.  Enjoy!

Carrot and Dill Soup

This creamy soup is a deep orange color and a lovely consistency.  Garnish with a sprig of dill.

Ingredients

  • 2 bunches small garden carrots, approximately 3 lbs
  • 1 medium yellow potato
  • 1 medium shallot
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup dill, depending upon preference
  • 5 cups vegetable stock

Instructions

  1. Heat soup pan over medium-low heat.  Dice shallot.  Scrub carrots well, picking off extraneous root tips.  Trip tops and tips as needed and roughly chop into 1/2 inch pieces.
  2. Add olive oil to soup pan.  Saute shallot until soft, yellow, and fragrant, about 5 minutes.  Peel and dice potato into 1/2 inch cubes.
  3. Add dill, carrots and potatoes.  Saute for about 2 minutes.  Add broth.  Bring to a boil.
  4. Reduce heat to medium-low.  Simmer until potatoes and carrots are fork tender, approximately 20 minutes.
  5. Remove from heat.  Puree in batches in blender or with immersion blender.  Season liberally with salt and pepper.
Leave a Reply

